India reveals Gaganyaan crew

India reveals Gaganyaan crew

Feb 27, 2024 - 13:42
 0  23
India reveals Gaganyaan crew

Prime Minister Narendra Modi today revealed the name of four astronauts who have been selected for the Gaganyaan Mission. The astronauts are undergoing training for the country's maiden human space flight mission. 

The four astronauts are - Prashanth Nair, Angad Prathap, Ajit Krishnan, and Shubhanshu Shukla.

The Gaganyaan Mission is India's first human space flight program for which extensive preparations are underway at various ISRO centres.

The Gaganyaan project envisages a demonstration of human spaceflight capability by launching crew members into an orbit of 400 km for a three-day mission and bringing them back safely to earth by landing in Indian sea waters.

In a stellar display of prowess, India soared to new heights in 2023 with the successful soft landing of Chandrayaan-3 on the South Pole of the Moon and the launch of Aditya-L1, India's first solar mission.

India now aims for are the Gaganyaan Mission in 2024-2025, setting up 'Bharatiya Antariksha Station' by 2035, and sending the first Indian to the Moon by 2040.

What's Your Reaction?